2016 Brain Prize Awarded to Three for Memory Research

On Tuesday, three British neuroscientists were awarded the Brain Prize “for their outstanding work on the mechanisms of memory.” Tim Bliss and Dana Alliance members Richard Morris and Graham Collingridge share this honor and the one million Euros prize.

According to the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research, which sponsors the Prize:

The research by Professors Bliss, Collingridge and Morris has focused on a brain mechanism known as ‘Long-Term Potentiation’ (LTP), which underpins the life-long plasticity of the brain. Their discoveries have revolutionized our understanding of how memories are formed, retained and lost.

Read more about the winners’ research and their reactions to Tuesday’s announcement in the Foundation’s press release.

To watch the announcement of this year’s Prize, see the video below.

– Ann L. Whitman

One response

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: