Benjamin Rush, Founding Father and Father of Psychiatry

This blog post was originally published on July 2, 2012.

Of the 56 founding fathers who signed the U.S. Declaration of Independence, there were four physicians: Josiah Bartlett and Matthew Thornton of New Hampshire, Lyman Hall of Georgia, and Benjamin Rush of Pennsylvania.


by Ole Erekson, Engraver, c. 1876, Library of Congress

Continue reading

%d bloggers like this: